Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

News

Legislation protecting foster children from abusive parents advancing through state Senate

Legislation to help further protect foster children from abusive parents was approved last week by the Tennessee House of Representatives. 

House Bill 752 would make it a Class C misdemeanor for the first time a foster parent in a kinship placement allows a child to visit a parent despite a court order prohibiting the contact.

“These are adults and they know that they are not supposed to be there,” said bill sponsor State Rep. Mary Littleton, R-Dickson.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The fine for first-time offenses would be $50. Subsequent violations would result in a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and a $500 fine.

There are approximately 121 children in Tennessee who are currently in kinship foster care and have a visitation restriction in place against their parents, according to information from the Department of Children’s Services. 

The companion version of the bill is advancing through the Senate.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like

News

A water main break in the New Union area has left two county schools with no water. New Union Elementary is without water and...

News

A Coffee County Sheriff’s Department deputy has been terminated after he was arrested for alleged DUI while on duty Thursday, Feb. 23. According to...

News

A tragic accident occurred on Monday night at 9:24 PM near 3261 Hillsboro Highway, resulting in the death of 60-year-old Timothy Sullivan. According to...

Sports

District superiority is up for grabs Friday night in Manchester. Coffee County Central’s Lady Red Raiders (no. 4 AP) and the Warren County Lady...