Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

News

Gun law among few new laws taking effect Jan. 1 in Tennessee

Tennessee’s gun laws will change beginning on Jan. 1. 

Offered will be a new concealed carry-only handgun permit course that does not require demonstration of the ability to fire a weapon. 

Under the new law, a permit to carry a concealed handgun can be obtained after online training of at least 90 minutes. 

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The current handgun carry permits will remain available and will be called “enhanced handgun carry permits.” These permits require eight hours of training and live firing is required. Critics of this say the process is time consuming. 

The NRA backed the new measure in Tennessee. 

However, the Tennessee Firearm Association actually opposed it, saying that other states may refused to acknowledge Tennessee’s existing handgun carry permits. 

Two vendors can currently offer the online courses – Clarksville Guns and Archery Tennessee Carry Permit Online School and Tier One Tactics. Both courses cost just under $40. 

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Other laws taking affect in Tennessee January 1 include: state employee insurance  will be required to cover proton therapy. Also, any prescription for an opioid is required to be issued electronically. 

You May Also Like

News

A water main break in the New Union area has left two county schools with no water. New Union Elementary is without water and...

News

A Coffee County Sheriff’s Department deputy has been terminated after he was arrested for alleged DUI while on duty Thursday, Feb. 23. According to...

News

A tragic accident occurred on Monday night at 9:24 PM near 3261 Hillsboro Highway, resulting in the death of 60-year-old Timothy Sullivan. According to...

Sports

District superiority is up for grabs Friday night in Manchester. Coffee County Central’s Lady Red Raiders (no. 4 AP) and the Warren County Lady...