Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Deadline to register to vote for August election fast approaching

Those wishing to vote in the upcoming August election will need to get registered soon.

The deadline to register is Tuesday, July 5.

Early voting will be July 15th through the 30th, with election day on Thursday, August 4.

Those wishing to register to vote can do so in person at the Coffee County Election Commission Office, which is in the administrative plaza at 1329 McArthur St. You can also register online by clicking here.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The August 4th election will include County General Election, Manchester municipal along with the state and federal primary elections.

Races of note

A few winners from the May 3 primary will square off against Independent candidates in August who were not on the May 3 ballot; while others will be Republican and Democratic winners from May 3 facing each other. Some winners from May 3 are unopposed and a lock for winning in August.

Republican candidate for Coffee County Mayor Judd Matheny, who ran unopposed in the primary, will face off against Independent candidate Margaret Cunningham in August for the county’s top seat.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Coffee County Sheriff Chad Partin, who defeated challenger Alethia Rawn in the May 3 primary will face two challengers. Independent candidates Brandon Tomberlin and Danny Ferrell will each be seeking the highest law enforcement spot in the county – you will see all three on the ballot with the option to select one.

Longtime County Clerk Teresa McFadden (I) will be challenged by Republican Melissa Anderson (R) in August.

Road Superintendent Benton Bartlett beat Republican challenger Scott Hansert in the May 3 primary and will now face Democratic primary winner Ronnie Watts, who ran unopposed.

There are a couple of Coffee County Commission seats that will see challenges in August. In District 2, Republican primary winners Joey Hobbs and Claude Morse will face Democratic primary winner Mike Stein. The top two vote-getters will serve as commissioners.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In District 5, Republican primary winners Missy Deford and Tim Morris will face off against Democratic primary winner Bonnie Gamble. The top two vote-getters will serve as commissioners.

And in District 7, Republican primary winner Tina Reed will face Democratic candidates Rosemary Crabtree and Jackie Duncan. The top two vote-getters will serve as commissioners.

Also coming up in August will be City of Manchester Mayor and Aldermen elections. City Mayor Marilyn Howard will be running unopposed.

Three Manchester alderman seats will expire in August. Aldermen Bill Nickels, Mark Messick and Roxanne Patton will all see their terms expire in August. Only Messick is seeking re-election.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Eight candidates have filed petitions to run for Manchester alderman – they include Messick, Julie Anderson, David Bradley, Helen Debellis, Joey Hobbs, Claude Morse, Donny Parsley and James Threet.

Also, alderman Chris Elam has resigned his spot with two years remaining on his term. Therefore, the aldermanic candidate receiving the fourth most votes will take Elam’s spot and serve the remainder of his term.

CLICK HERE to see a full sample ballot for the Aug. 4 election.

Need to know more about the candidates? Thunder Radio is hosting its annual political forum on July 14th – one day prior to early voting. The forum will be aired live on Thunder Radio and everyone is welcome to attend. Click here to learn more about the political forum.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


The 2023 Old Farmer’s Almanac is telling “A Tale of Two Winters.” On sale everywhere August 30, the newest edition of North America’s most trusted...


Manchester Police are asking for the public’s help to locate a Manchester man who has been reported missing by his family. According to MPD,...


 Dot Foods, Inc., North America’s largest food industry redistributor broke ground Thursday (Aug. 25, 2022) on the company’s 13th U.S. distribution center, which will be located...


UPDATE: 10:05pm — Coffee County Sheriff’s Department authorities have identified the suspect in this case as a 16-year old from Franklin County and state...