Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Coffee County Teachers Earn Tenure

At the November 13, 2023 Coffee County School Board Meeting, the school board voted unanimously to approve tenure for teachers from 7 of the County schools. As told by Coffee County Director of schools, Dr. Charles Lawson, teachers are eligible for tenure when they have taught in the district for 5 years and have two consecutive years of 4s and 5s (the two highest levels for growth scores) and are recommended by their respective school principals.

The following teachers were granted tenure:

Coffee County Central High School-Wesley Rutledge

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Raider Academy-Sarah Persinger, Tiffany Brown

Coffee County Middle School-Rachel Williams, Juan Smith

Deerfield Elementary-Rachel Holder, Devin Spearman

East Coffee-Rhonda Meeks

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

New Union-Victoria Adams, Helen Dougherty

North Coffee-Tierra Miller, Amberly Hodges

Coffee County School Board members (top row): Thomas Ballard, Brent Parsley, Jennifer Peacock Hodge, Dr. Gary Nester, Larry Crabtree and Gary Cordell. the tenured teachers pictured with Dr. Charles Lawson.

You May Also Like


A water main break in the New Union area has left two county schools with no water. New Union Elementary is without water and...


A Coffee County Sheriff’s Department deputy has been terminated after he was arrested for alleged DUI while on duty Thursday, Feb. 23. According to...


A tragic accident occurred on Monday night at 9:24 PM near 3261 Hillsboro Highway, resulting in the death of 60-year-old Timothy Sullivan. According to...


District superiority is up for grabs Friday night in Manchester. Coffee County Central’s Lady Red Raiders (no. 4 AP) and the Warren County Lady...